skip to main content
About the OCSD5 Board of Trustees


A Board of Trustees, consisting of seven members, governs Orangeburg Consolidated School District Five. All members of the Board of Trustees are required to be residents of the school district. All members represent the school district located within Orangeburg County, and are elected from single member districts by the registered voters therein. Each trustee is elected to serve a four-year term. The Board conducts yearly elections during the first meeting in January to elect a Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary.


The Orangeburg Consolidated School District Five Board of Trustees is the District's official policy-making entity. The Board of Trustees formulates policies to enhance educational opportunities in the District by interpreting the needs and goals of the parents, students, staff and community. 


The Board of Trustees normally holds one regular monthly meeting, on the second Tuesday of each month. Meetings begin at 6:00 p.m. and rotate between the district school sites in Orangeburg, Bowman and North during the school year. All meetings, including any committee meetings, are open to the public except those executive sessions allowed under the S. C. Freedom of Information Act. Community members are provided opportunities to voice opinions and ask questions at designated times during each board meeting. Notice of all meetings is given to the public, in advance, and any changes in this meeting schedule are announced through the news media. 


All other District employees are responsible to the Superintendent and are employed by the Board upon the recommendation of the Superintendent.

578 Ellis Avenue | Orangeburg, SC 29115