Facebook Twitter

OCSD5 Honors “Senior Scholars” From The Class of 2017

    The Orangeburg Consolidated School District Five (OCSD5) Board of Trustees honored the top ten percent of the graduating senior classes at Bethune-Bowman High School, North High School, Orangeburg-Wilkinson High School, and the High School for Health Professions during the regularly scheduled meeting of the Board of Trustees on April 18, 2017.
    A total of forty-one (41) students, along with their parents and family members, were recognized by the Board of Trustees and Superintendent Dr. Jesse Washington for their hard work and outstanding record of academic achievement. All of the students have been accepted into college and university programs and have cumulatively received scholarship offers in excess of $5.72 million.
    The full story can be viewed under "District News" on the right of this home page.

OCSD5 Schedule For School Make-Up Days Is Approved

     Due to the severe weather conditions experienced earlier in the school year from Tropical Storm Hermine and Hurricane Matthew, OCSD5 schools were required to be closed for a total of nine days. Three days have already been made up. At their regularly scheduled meeting on February 7, 2017, the Orangeburg Consolidated School District Five (OCSD5) Board of Trustees authorized the following dates to be utilized as six remaining make-up days:
      • February 20, 2017 (Monday)
      • March 17, 2017 (Friday)
      • May 31, 2017 (Wednesday)
      • June 1, 2017 (Thursday)
      • June 2, 2017 (Friday)
      • June 5, 2017 (Monday)
    If you have any questions regarding the schedule for make-up days, please contact the Principal at the school or email your question to publicrelations@ocsd5.net

   Miss Jessica James, a fifth grade student at Marshall Elementary School, is the winner of the 2017 OCSD5 Martin Luther King Jr. Oratory Competition. The full story can be viewed by clicking on "E-Blast Newsletter - Jan. 2017" under District News on this home page.

The draft of the Computer Science Standards are now available. Click on image to review the standards.

OCTV Launches New Website, Viewing
Options Expanded and Enhanced

    Orangeburg Consolidated School District Five (OCSD5) and the County of Orangeburg have partnered to create a new website that brings our local cable television signal and our library of video programming to anyone with an Internet connection. The address for the new Orangeburg County Television (OCTV) website is: www.orangeburgcountytv.com (click on image above).
    Until now, access to the OCTV signal was limited to local subscribers of the Time Warner Cable (TWC) system. While the television signal can still be viewed on TWC Channel 12 or Channel 78.10 for viewers with a QAM-enabled television, the new website makes OCTV available to everyone.
    Visitors to the website have the ability to view the live signal that is being broadcast on OCTV or select from any of the items in the video library for “on-demand” viewing. Check the website frequently as new video content is being added every week.


Click HERE to view information and resources related to the proposed legislation on school consolidation in Orangeburg County, including a copy of the proposed legislation, current laws governing the three school districts, and related maps. (This link will take you to the Orangeburg Co. School District Provisions on the Orangeburg County website.)

 Welcome to our website!

    We hope you enjoy the Orangeburg Consolidated School District 5 website. A lot of work and attention went into streamlining the website's navigation menus and in reorganizing the way information is categorized to improve the online experience of every OCSD5 website visitor. We hope you will find it to be a valuable resource. Pages feature class descriptions, documents, homework assignments, presentations, research links, multimedia, and more. Teachers and staff members are updating their designs on their webpages periodically.
    Our goal is to keep the website current and full of information. So check back with us frequently to see the latest news about our schools and to learn about upcoming activities. As always, we welcome your suggestions and feedback at publicrelations@ocsd5.net